Are nicotine pouches vegan?
By ingredient, almost certainly yes — every component any manufacturer discloses is plant-derived, mineral or synthetic, and one brand says so outright. But no nicotine pouch anywhere carries a vegan certification, two declared ingredient classes have undisclosed origins, and the thing that would actually disqualify a pouch under the Vegan Trademark’s own rules has nothing to do with what is in it.
This is a question with a short answer and a long footnote, and the footnote is the interesting part. I spent a day in ingredient censuses, FDA toxicology reviews and certification standards, and the conclusion I came to is not the one I expected: the ingredients are the easy part. What a strict vegan would actually want to know is upstream of the can.
If you want the ingredient list itself rather than its provenance, that is what is inside a nicotine pouch besides nicotine. This page is about where those things come from.
The one brand that answers the question directly
ZYN does, in the United States, and the wording is careful:
“ZYN pouches do not contain any animal products. ZYN is not third party certified as a vegan product.”
Two sentences, and the second is doing real work. “No animal products” is a claim about composition. “Not third party certified” is an admission that nobody has audited it. That is as good as the disclosure gets from any brand in this category, and it is the honest shape of the answer for all of them.
Worth noting that the claim is not published uniformly. ZYN’s New Zealand site carries the same answer in slightly different words — “ZYN nicotine pouches do not contain any animal products. ZYN is not third party certified as vegan product” — while its UK ingredients explainer contains no occurrence of “vegan” or “animal” at all. If you are in Britain, the brand has not told you.
What is actually on the labels: a regulator’s census of 49 products
The best source on this subject is not a brand. It is the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment, which bought 50 nicotine pouches and tabulated every ingredient declared on the packaging. Forty-nine of them carried a list; on one, “the ingredients and other information were not disclosed at all.”
Here is the relevant part of their tally, verbatim from the paper’s Table 1, with counts being the number of products declaring each item:
| Category | Declared ingredients, as counted | Animal-origin risk |
|---|---|---|
| Fillers | “Cellulose (E460) and plant fibers, 37; fibers from eucalyptus and pine tree, 9; undefined fibers, 5; undefined fillers, 2” | None — plant, or explicitly named as plant |
| Sweeteners | “Xylitol (E967), 17; acesulfame K (E950), 15; sucralose (E955), 15; erythritol (E968), 5; stevia (E960), 3; maltitol (E965), 2” | None — all synthetic or plant |
| Acidity regulators | “Sodium carbonate (E500), 34; undefined acidity regulators, 8; potassium carbonate (E501), 4; magnesium carbonate (504), 3; calcium lactate (E327), 1; citric acid (E330), 1” | Mineral; calcium lactate reads dairy but is normally fermentation-derived |
| Humectants | “Propylene glycol (E1520), 25; sodium alginate (E401), 11; glycerol (E422), 10; undefined humectant, 7; agar agar (E406), 1″ | Glycerol can be tallow-derived. Source never stated. |
| Aroma | “Undefined aroma or food flavors, 46; salmiac (E510), 6; mint aroma or corn mint oil, 3; L-menthone, 1″ | Unanswerable from labels |
| Thickener | “Undefined gelling agent, 9; xanthan gum (E415), 7; guar gum (E412), 2; natural chewing gum basis, 1″ | Gelatin is a gelling agent. Nine products do not say. |
| Other | “Vegetable oil, 4” | None — named as vegetable |
The paper was funded by the regulator’s own money — “The project was financially supported by intramural funding of the German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment (BfR)” — with the authors declaring no conflict of interest. That matters in a field where most composition data comes from the companies.
Several clean negatives fall straight out of that table. Carmine, shellac, beeswax, gelatin, lactose, whey and casein appear by name on none of the 49 labels. Neither does magnesium stearate, which is the ingredient people expect to find here — the only magnesium compound in the whole census is magnesium carbonate, a mineral, in three products. And no sugar appears on any label, which quietly disposes of the bone-char question that comes up in every vegan ingredient discussion: there is no sucrose in a nicotine pouch to have been filtered through anything.
ZYN’s own full US list is consistent with all of that: “NICOTINE SALT (Nicotine bitartrate dihydrate)”, “STABILIZERS (Hydroxypropyl cellulose): A plant-based food additive”, fillers of “Micro crystalline cellulose, maltitol, and gum arabic”, pH adjusters of sodium carbonate and sodium bicarbonate, and acesulfame K as sweetener. Elsewhere on the same page: “Does ZYN contain lactose? Nope, it’s lactose free.”
The three gaps, in order of how much they should bother you
Glycerol is the real one. It is declared on ten of 49 products, it is in Swedish snus by the maker’s own account, and it is the classic tallow-or-palm ambiguity in food manufacturing. No manufacturer document I opened states its glycerol source. Not one. If you are strict about this, glycerol is the ingredient to email a company about, and this is the single most useful thing on this page.
“Undefined gelling agent”, on nine products. Gelatin is a gelling agent. So are xanthan gum, guar gum and agar, all of which other products in the same census name explicitly. The nine that do not name theirs are an open question, and a regulator counted them, so this is not speculation.
Flavourings, which are formally unanswerable. Forty-six of 56 aroma entries in the census are “Undefined aroma or food flavors”. Natural flavour compounds can be animal-derived — dairy lactones, historically castoreum — and no label in the category distinguishes. The industry’s position is explicit: Swedish Match, asked what is in its flavourings, says “the exact recipes are business secrets, of course.” You will not get past that sentence from the outside. The same opacity has a second consequence worth knowing about, which is that nobody outside the company can tell you how much cooling agent is in a mint pouch either — see why mint pouches feel stronger than they are.
The nicotine and the pouch itself
The nicotine is not an issue by either route, and it is worth having that sourced rather than assumed. VELO’s US site sets out three product lines on one page: “VELO Nicotine Pouches: Nicotine derived from the tobacco plant, maltitol, modified cellulose, sodium carbonates, acesulfame K, and artificial flavor”, against “VELO PLUS Nicotine Pouches: Non-tobacco derived synthetic nicotine, microcrystalline cellulose, sodium carbonates, sucralose, salt, water, and artificial flavor.” Plant-extracted or laboratory-synthesised; neither involves an animal. For the difference, see tobacco-free vs synthetic nicotine.
The fleece is cellulose — viscose or lyocell — which is plant. But as pouch fleece materials sets out, the binder holding it together can be 20% to 60% of the material’s weight and nobody names its chemistry. I checked whether FDA does, in the on! PLUS technical review: FDA requires the applicant to specify the fleece’s basis weight and porosity, and names neither the fibre nor the binder. So the gap persists at regulator level, which is the strongest way to state it. The can is polypropylene.
Animal testing: what FDA’s own reviews actually show
This is where I expected the answer to be uncomfortable. It is more mixed than that, and the first half is reassuring.
FDA does not require animal studies for a nicotine pouch. Its binding rule, 21 CFR 1114.7, requires “full reports of all information, both favorable and unfavorable … including nonclinical and human subject studies”, and separately that an applicant “must specify whether the studies were conducted in vitro, in vivo, ex vivo, or in silico”. The obligation is to have substantive information, not to generate it by any particular method. FDA’s own guidance goes further: “FDA supports reducing the reliance on animal testing where adequate and scientifically valid non-animal alternatives can be substituted.”
And in the two authorised pouch families whose reviews are public, that is what happened. Of ZYN, FDA writes that the products “did not produce genotoxic effects in the applicant’s nonclinical toxicology studies (i.e., Ames test, in vitro micronucleus assay)”. That sentence names the applicant’s entire nonclinical package, and it is two in vitro assays. For the six on! PLUS products, FDA records that it determined they “would not warrant a toxicology consult” at all, because the ingredient review found no added chemicals with known genotoxicity — so no new toxicology was generated for them.
There is a technical caveat that cuts against a comfortable reading, and it is worth knowing because it recurs across this whole literature. “In vitro” does not mean no animal was ever involved. The industry’s own published pouch toxicology study states in its ethics declaration that “Ethical approval was not required for the studies on animals in accordance with the local legislation and institutional requirements because only commercially available established cell lines were used” — and those cell lines are Chinese hamster ovary cells, with a metabolic activation fraction conventionally prepared from rat liver. That study was commissioned by RAI Services Company, which “is a wholly owned subsidiary of Reynolds American, Inc., which is a wholly owned subsidiary of British American Tobacco plc (BAT).”
Animal testing: what the companies say about themselves
Here the picture splits, and the split is between a manufacturer and its owner.
Swedish Match, which makes ZYN and General snus, publishes a flat denial on its corporate FAQ: “No, Swedish Match does not conduct animal testing of its products or product constituents.”
Philip Morris International, which has owned Swedish Match since 2022, says this about itself: “Animal testing is still the most reliable method to identify potential hazards without compromising human safety, which makes them a crucial component in regulatory approval.” Its position is that animal methods are replaced where possible and minimised where not — “If we could do research without any animal studies, we would. At present, we cannot.”
Those two statements are not formally inconsistent. They are different legal entities, and PMI’s described in vivo work is inhalation toxicology on aerosol products, with no mention of oral pouches. But a vegan is entitled to both sentences, and only one of them is on the brand’s own FAQ.
Altria, parent of the maker of on!, is in the same shape and more explicit about why: “the majority of our scientific research does not involve laboratory animals”, but “there are some instances when animal research is necessary, including when the work may be needed to meet regulatory requirements.” Its statement then cites FDA guidance as listing animal studies among the options — which is accurate, and is the regulatory loop closing.
BAT, maker of VELO, I could not establish a position for. The word “animal” appears zero times in its 2025 combined annual and sustainability report, and its own animal-research pages were unreachable from here. That is not the same as having no policy, and I am not going to report it as one.
There is one further item that belongs on this page even though no company commissioned it. In October 2024 the US National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences published drinking-water toxicity studies of nicotine bitartrate dihydrate — the exact salt ZYN names on its own FAQ — in Sprague Dawley rats and Swiss mice. The reason given is in the report’s abstract: the salt “is used in nicotine-containing consumer products and is more stable than pure freebase (-)-nicotine.” Among the findings, “a cluster of pup mortality was observed in exposed groups” at the higher concentrations. This was public-health research, not a manufacturer’s application, and the doses have nothing to do with human use — it tells you nothing about the safety of a pouch. But the honest framing for a vegan reader is that the animals were not used to get these products to market; they were used because these products exist.
Why no pouch is certified — and it is not the nicotine
I assumed certification bodies excluded the category. They do not.
The Vegan Society’s published certification standards contain no tobacco, nicotine, pharmaceutical or medicinal exclusion anywhere. The scope sentence is as open as it could be: “The Vegan Trademark can be applied to any product or service that fully complies with these Certification Standards.”
What disqualifies a pouch is the animal testing clause, and specifically two phrases in it:
“The manufacture and development of products and their ingredients, registered with the Vegan Society do not, and have not, involved the use of any animal product, by product or derivative and do not, or have not, involved testing of any sort on animals. This includes tests for efficacy, toxicity, safety, cosmetic evaluation and any legally mandated animal testing in any jurisdiction. No testing may be conducted by the applicant, on its behalf, or by entities under its effective control.”
Read that against PMI’s published position and the result is arithmetic. A ZYN pouch could not be certified regardless of its ingredients — not because it contains nicotine, but because of the corporate group it belongs to. The product fails on its parent, not on its contents. The standard also sets a cross-contamination ceiling (“A maximum threshold of 100ppm of animal-based contamination is permitted”) and notes that it “is not an environmental or eco certification”.
PETA’s criteria for its cruelty-free list behave similarly. The list covers “cosmetics, personal-care products, household-cleaning products, and other common household products”, and its carve-out is narrow: “The list does not include companies that manufacture only products that are required by law to be tested on animals (e.g., pharmaceuticals and garden chemicals).” Nicotine is not named there either. Inclusion requires a signed assurance that neither the company nor its suppliers “conduct, commission, or pay for any tests on animals”.
So: neither body bars nicotine products. Both would bar these companies. Searching the Vegan Trademark’s product register under the letters covering every major pouch brand name returns no nicotine or tobacco product at all, and the register has no tobacco or nicotine category.
Which brands claim it, and the one that would not
| Brand | Market | Position |
|---|---|---|
| ZYN | US | “do not contain any animal products”; “not third party certified” |
| ZYN | New Zealand | Same claim, slightly different wording |
| ZYN | UK | Not stated in its ingredients explainer |
| VELO | UK | Writes about the question and declines to answer it |
| VELO | US, Ireland | No mention |
| Skruf, GN Tobacco, Another Snus Factory | — | No mention on their own sites |
| Nordic Spirit | UK | Not determinable — site behind an age gate that blocked retrieval |
That fourth row is the best artefact I found all day. BAT’s VELO UK site publishes an article titled, exactly, “Are nicotine pouches vegan?” — and never answers it for VELO. It tells the reader: “When it comes to whether or not nicotine pouches are vegan, it’s not always a straightforward yes or no. It depends on the specific brand and their ingredients. While the primary components might appear vegan, certain components might be animal-derived. We would recommend checking the ingredient list thoroughly and, if needed, contact the manufacturer directly.”
On the same page, under its own heading about what VELO pouches are made from, it lists “Pharmaceutical grade nicotine”, “Plant-based materials”, water, flavourings and sweeteners. “Plant-based materials” — and then no vegan claim, and no flavouring source. A major manufacturer wrote this article, warned its readers that components might be animal-derived, told them to contact the manufacturer, and was the manufacturer.
Swedish snus on the same test
Snus comes out in much the same place, with the same single gap. Swedish Match’s own account of the ingredients is “selected tobacco varieties, various salts, flavoring and moisture-preserving substances”, and the moisture-preserving substances are named: “Food-approved moisture-preserving substances such as glycerol and propylene glycol”. Glycerol again, named by the maker, source again unstated. It is the one ingredient common to both product classes that carries the ambiguity, and in both cases nobody discloses it.
The company’s position is that its additives are restricted to food-approved ones, which — if accurate — constrains the list to EU food additives, none of which is animal-derived by name. I would not lean on the company’s wider characterisation of how snus is classified in Sweden without a regulator’s own page in front of me, which I do not have; take the ingredient consequence and leave the legal claim.
One thing worth saying because this site has a page on GothiaTek: that standard does not help here. It is a ceiling on undesirable substances, not a statement about ingredient origin, and it says nothing about animal derivation. And the NIH-funded mouse work on smokeless products did include “commercial snus, CRP-1 reference snus” — so snus specifically has been fed to mice in published research.
Frequently asked questions
So can I say nicotine pouches are vegan? By ingredient, on the available disclosure, yes — with three honest exceptions: glycerol where it appears, undefined flavourings, and the nine products in a 49-product census that declare an unnamed gelling agent. By certification, no: none is certified and, on the Vegan Trademark’s own wording, the major ones could not be.
Is there gelatin in a nicotine pouch? Gelatin appears by name on none of the 49 labels a regulator censused. Nine of those products declared an “undefined gelling agent” without naming it, which is as far as the public record goes.
What about the tobacco-derived nicotine — is that a problem? Not for this question. Tobacco is a plant; the nicotine is extracted from it. Synthetic nicotine is made in a reactor. Neither route involves an animal.
Which brand should I buy if this matters to me? I am not going to turn a disclosure gap into a recommendation. What I will say is that only one brand publishes an explicit answer, only in some markets, and it also tells you nobody has audited it. If this matters, email the company and ask specifically about the glycerol and the flavourings — those are the two questions the public record cannot close.
Are nicotine pouches tested on animals? The two authorised families’ own applications were not: FDA names two in vitro assays for one and no new toxicology at all for the other. The companies that own those brands publish positions acknowledging that they do conduct animal research where they consider it necessary. Both of those things are true at once.
Sources
- Mallock-Ohnesorg N, Rinaldi S, et al. (German Federal Institute for Risk Assessment). “Oral nicotine pouches with an aftertaste? Part 1: screening and initial toxicological assessment of flavorings and other ingredients.” Archives of Toxicology 2023;97(9):2357–2369. PMC10404176. Funded by BfR intramural funding; no declared conflict.
- Swedish Match. Corporate FAQ. Read 29 October 2026. Commercial source.
- ZYN. US FAQ: ingredients, how to use & more. Read 29 October 2026. Commercial source.
- VELO. US FAQ and “Are nicotine pouches vegan?” (UK, 22 October 2025). Commercial sources.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Technical Project Lead review of modified risk tobacco product applications, STNs MR0000268.PD1–PD20 (ZYN), discipline reviews signed 25 June 2026. PDF.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Technical Project Lead review of nicotine pouch PMTAs, Helix Innovations LLC (on! PLUS), STNs PM0009121.PD10–PD17. PDF.
- 21 CFR 1114.7, as in force 1 October 2026. eCFR. And FDA, Premarket Tobacco Product Applications for Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems — Draft Guidance for Industry, May 2016, PDF (ENDS, not pouches).
- Keyser BM, Leverette R, et al. “In vitro toxicological evaluation of pouched portioned oral nicotine products.” Frontiers in Toxicology 2024;6:1452274. PMC11634830. Industry study: commissioned by RAI Services Company, a BAT subsidiary; authors were its employees.
- Panzacchi S, Belpoggi F, Bua L, et al. NIEHS report on the toxicity studies of nicotine bitartrate dihydrate (CASRN 6019-06-3) administered in drinking water to Sprague Dawley rats and Swiss mice. NIEHS Report 11, October 2024. NIEHS.
- Malovichko MV, Zafar I, et al. “Systemic toxicity of smokeless tobacco products in mice.” Nicotine Tob Res 2019;21(1):101–110. PMC6329408. NIH-funded; no declared interests.
- The Vegan Society Trading International Ltd. The Vegan Trademark — Certification Standards (PDF, undated; file created 17 June 2026).
- PETA. “Beauty Without Bunnies — FAQ”. Last updated 1 September 2021.
- PMI Science. “Methods in PMI’s toxicology research”. Commercial source, read 29 October 2026.
- Altria Client Services. “Animal Care & Use Statement” (PDF, undated). Commercial source.
- Directive 2014/40/EU (Tobacco Products Directive), Articles 1, 2(4) and 19, and Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 (Cosmetics), Articles 2(1)(a) and 18(1), read via publications.europa.eu. The word “animal” appears nowhere in the TPD; the cosmetics animal-testing ban does not reach nicotine pouches, because the cosmetic definition covers oral mucous membranes only for products intended for cleaning, perfuming, appearance, protection, upkeep or odour.
Last verified 29 October 2026.