How many pouches are in a can, brand by brand
Most nicotine pouch cans hold 20 pouches, but the real range runs from 14 to 30, and the best-selling pouch in the United States holds 15. Swedish snus cans usually hold 24, not 20. No regulator anywhere makes a manufacturer print the count on the lid, and three European countries legislate the number without ever requiring anyone to tell you it.
“How many are in a can” sounds like it should have one answer. It does not, and the spread is wider than almost anyone assumes. I went looking for a table I could trust and found that the most reliable numbers in this entire subject are not on manufacturers’ websites at all — they are buried in regulatory filings, in appendices written for government reviewers rather than for customers.
What follows is every count I could source to a primary document: the maker’s own statement, or a regulator restating the maker’s declaration. I have not counted pouches in a can myself, and nobody else appears to have either — no laboratory and no regulator measures pouch counts. They measure milligrams. Every number below is therefore declared, and I say so each time.
The short answer, brand by brand
If you want the number and nothing else:
- ZYN (United States): 15
- ZYN ULTRA (United States): 20
- on! PLUS (United States): 14
- VELO and LYFT: 20
- Nordic Spirit: 20 standard, 14 for the moist Mini
- LOOP: 20, including the Mini
- Zone: 20
- Siberia and Odens: around 20 — the maker writes “appr.”
- Swedish snus (Skruf, Knox, most General): 24
Now the part that matters more than the numbers: why they differ, and what the count is actually telling you.
The US market, from FDA’s own files
Only two companies may lawfully sell nicotine pouches in the United States. FDA’s authorised list names 43 products from Helix Innovations and Swedish Match USA, and states flatly that “These are the only nicotine pouch products that may be lawfully sold in the United States.” The list itself gives no pouch counts. The counts are in the review documents behind it.
In FDA’s technical review of the ZYN applications, every one of the twenty authorised ZYN product entries carries the line “Portion Count: 15 pouches”, alongside “Product quantity 6 Gram (g)” and “Portion Mass: 0.40 g”. I searched that document for any other value and there is none: fifteen appears twenty times and nothing else appears at all. Fifteen pouches at 0.40 g is exactly the 6 g the can declares.
ZYN ULTRA is a different product with a different can. FDA’s marketing order letter for the ULTRA range records “Portion count: 20 pouches” and a 16.0 g container, with 0.8 g per pouch. Again the arithmetic closes exactly.
So the same brand name, from the same company, on the same shelf, is 15 in one tin and 20 in the other. If you have been assuming a ZYN is a ZYN, you are a third out.
on! PLUS is lower still. FDA’s review of the Helix Innovations applications states it three separate ways in one document — “Each container contains 14 pouches”, then “14 pouches per can” in the packaging section, then “Portion Count: 14 pouches” in the product appendix. Fourteen is the lowest count I found anywhere, and it belongs to a flagship American product.
One honest wrinkle. The same FDA table declares 14 pouches, 0.714 g per pouch and a 9 g container — and 14 × 0.714 is almost 10 g, not 9. I am not claiming anyone is wrong; I am pointing out that three declared figures in the public regulatory record do not quite reconcile, which is a useful reminder that a pouch count is a softer number than it looks.
Swedish snus: the number is 24
The “a can holds 20” assumption fails completely for traditional Swedish snus. Skruf publishes a specification table for nearly its whole range on its own site, and for Knox Original Portion it reads: “Vikt dosa: 21,6 g”, “Vikt portion: 0,90 g”, “Antal prillor: 24 st” — can weight, pouch weight, and twenty-four pouches. The same 24 runs through most of the Skruf and Knox portion range, and the wider range spans 20, 22, 24, 26 and 30.
Swedish Match states its counts in its own press releases rather than on a spec page. The clearest is the XRANGE launch: “XRANGE contains 21 portions of General and Göteborgs Rapé snus and 24 portions of Catch.” Twenty-one is an unusual number and that sentence is the only place I could source it. For General Long the company writes “The can contains 24 grams, distributed in about 26 portions.”
Note the hedge — “about 26”. Makers do this constantly, and it is the most informative thing on the page.
Pouch brands outside the United States
VELO’s Danish site answers the question for two brands in one sentence: “Alle VELO og LYFT dåser indeholder 20 nikotinposer” — all VELO and LYFT cans contain 20 nicotine pouches. I could find no equivalent statement on VELO’s Swedish or UK sites, which publish can weight and milligrams but no count at all.
Nordic Spirit’s own FAQ asks this article’s exact question and gives three answers: “Standard size can: 20 pouches” and “Mini size can: 14 pouches (Moist range). 20 pouches (Dry range).” One brand, one market, one page, three numbers.
Set that against LOOP, which declares “Pouches: 20” across its range including the Mini, shrinking the can from 12.5 g to 9 g instead of cutting the count. Two makers, the same word “Mini” on the lid, opposite engineering decisions. Zone states it plainly too: “Varje dosa innehåller 20 portioner.”
GN Tobacco is the most candid of the lot. On its own webshop, Siberia White Dry reads “Appr. 20 portions/can” next to “Net weight: 16 g”. The company will not commit to an exact figure, and I think that is the correct posture rather than a failing: these are filled by weight, and the count follows.
Which brings up the detail I did not expect. Two Siberia products both come in 15 g cans and hold different numbers of pouches, because one is a slim format and one is not. Can weight and pouch count are independent variables. Neither one tells you the other.
The comparison table
| Product | Pouches per can (declared) | Can weight | Source type |
|---|---|---|---|
| on! PLUS (US) | 14 | 9 g | FDA review document |
| Nordic Spirit Mini, Moist | 14 | not stated | Maker’s FAQ |
| ZYN (US) | 15 | 6 g | FDA review document |
| ZYN ULTRA (US) | 20 | 16.0 g | FDA order letter |
| VELO / LYFT | 20 | varies | Maker’s FAQ (Denmark) |
| Nordic Spirit Standard | 20 | not stated | Maker’s FAQ |
| LOOP (all formats) | 20 | 9–12.5 g | Maker’s product pages |
| Zone | 20 | 14.1 g | Maker’s product page |
| Siberia / Odens (most) | “Appr. 20” | 9–20 g | Maker’s webshop |
| General / Göteborgs Rapé Slim Large White | 21 | not stated | Maker’s press release |
| Skruf and Knox portion (most) | 24 | 19.2–21.6 g | Maker’s product pages |
| Catch Slim Large White | 24 | not stated | Maker’s press release |
| General Long | “about 26” | 24 g | Maker’s press release |
| Skruf Super Slim Fresh White | 30 | 16.5 g | Maker’s product page |
| Loose snus | no count — sold by weight | 35, 40 or 42 g | Maker’s product pages |
What the law says about the count — and where it says something surprising
I assumed no legislator had ever bothered with this. I was wrong, and the exceptions are the best part of the research.
Czechia caps the can. Decree 141/2023 Sb. § 2(4) provides that “Obsah jednotkového balení nesmí překročit 240 mg nikotinu a musí obsahovat minimálně 20 dávek nikotinového sáčku” — a unit pack may not exceed 240 mg of nicotine and must contain a minimum of 20 doses. Czechia also requires the label to state nicotine per dose and the number of doses in the pack. It is the only jurisdiction I found that regulates both ends. In force since 1 July 2023.
Latvia sets a floor and a ceiling. Its tobacco and tobacco-substitutes law requires that a pack’s mass not exceed 20 grams, that “vienā tabakas aizstājējprodukta iepakojuma vienībā ir ne mazāk kā 20 tabakas aizstājējprodukti” — at least 20 pouches in a pack — and that nicotine not exceed four milligrams per gram.
Hungary goes the other way and caps the pack at “legfeljebb 20 darab terméket tartalmazó doboz”, a box containing at most 20 items.
So a 24-pouch Swedish can is lawful in Latvia and unlawful in Hungary, on the count alone.
Everywhere else, nothing. The EU’s Tobacco Products Directive went to the trouble of legislating pack size — Article 14(1) says “A unit packet of cigarettes shall include at least 20 cigarettes” and a pack of roll-your-own must hold “not less than 30 g” — and extended none of it to smokeless products. Article 12, the whole of the smokeless labelling mandate, requires one health warning and says nothing about quantity at all. The familiar 20 in European tobacco is a cigarette rule. Any resemblance to a 20-pouch can is convention.
The United States looks like the exception and is not. Section 903(a)(2) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act deems a tobacco product misbranded without “an accurate statement of the quantity of the contents in terms of weight, measure, or numerical count”. Read the disjunction: print the grams and you never have to print the count. The same provision pre-authorises “reasonable variations”, which is the legal room in which “appr. 20” and “about 26” sit comfortably.
Sweden comes closest to giving you the answer by accident. Ordinance 2022:1263 § 11 requires the label to carry “uppgift om innehåll av nikotin i produkten och fördelning per dos” — the nicotine content in the product and the distribution per dose. Where a Swedish label prints both a per-can total and a per-pouch figure, dividing one by the other gives you the count. That is my inference from the text, not something the law sets out to do, and I have not checked how consistently it works in practice. Check your own can.
Why the count is worth knowing: the number nobody prints
Multiply the count by the milligrams and you get the total nicotine in the tin. No manufacturer and no regulator publishes this figure. The arithmetic below is mine.
| Product | Count × mg per pouch | Nicotine per can |
|---|---|---|
| ZYN 3 mg (US) | 15 × 3 | 45 mg |
| on! PLUS 9 mg (US) | 14 × 9 | 126 mg |
| ZYN ULTRA 11 mg (US) | 20 × 11 | 220 mg |
| A Danish-maximum pouch | 20 × 9 | 180 mg |
| Knox Original Portion (12 mg/portion declared) | 24 × 12 | 288 mg |
The legal nicotine content of a single lawful can therefore ranges from about 45 mg to several hundred, and in the Nordic snus and strong-pouch ranges considerably more. Only Czechia regulates that number. Denmark caps the pouch at 9.0 mg and says nothing about the can, so a 20-pouch Danish tin lawfully holds 180 mg and a 24-pouch tin at the same per-pouch maximum would lawfully hold 216 mg, and Danish law does not notice the difference. If you want the rest of that picture, I have set out the national strength caps and the units they are written in separately.
There is a second reason the count matters, and Germany’s risk assessment body makes it concrete. BfR reports that only about a third of the pouches it examined declared nicotine clearly in milligrams per pouch or per gram — “Nur auf etwa einem Drittel der betrachteten Nikotinbeutel war der Nikotingehalt in mg pro Beutel oder pro g eindeutig deklariert” — and that in its sample the highest measured content was 47.5 mg per pouch and the lowest 1.79 mg. If the strength declaration is unreliable and the count is optional, “a can” is not a quantity you can reason with. It is a container.
What I could not find out
These negatives are part of the answer. I could find no primary pouch count for White Fox, for X All White, for VELO in Sweden or the UK, for Rogue, for Lucy, or for the non-PLUS on! products — and for several brands sold widely in Europe there is no reachable manufacturer site at all. For the biggest brands, the only trustworthy counts I have came from a regulator, not from the company selling the product.
I also found no primary source anywhere explaining why 20 became the convention. What the record does show is that the snus can was standardised first by weight and later by shape; counting came afterwards. “Twenty per can” is not an inherited standard. It is a modern habit sitting on top of a container whose only fixed properties were ever its shape and its weight — which is exactly why today’s counts scatter from 14 to 30 while can weights stay tidy.
Frequently asked questions
How many pouches are in a ZYN can? Fifteen, in the FDA-authorised US products — and twenty in a ZYN ULTRA can. Both figures are in FDA documents.
Do all snus cans hold 24? No. Most Skruf and Knox portion products do, and so do several General and Catch products, but the same ranges also include 20, 21, 22, 26 and 30, and loose snus has no count at all.
Why does my can seem to have a different number than the website says? Because most makers fill by weight and hedge the count. GN Tobacco writes “appr. 20”; Swedish Match writes “about 26”. Neither is claiming an exact figure.
Is the count printed on the can? Sometimes, and only Czechia requires it. US law is satisfied by printing the weight instead.
Does a smaller can mean fewer pouches? Not reliably. Two Siberia products share a 15 g can and hold different numbers, and LOOP keeps 20 pouches in a 9 g Mini can while Nordic Spirit drops to 14 in its moist Mini.
Which can has the most nicotine in total? Among products I could source, a high-strength 24-pouch Nordic can is well ahead of anything on the US market, where the authorised ceiling is 11 mg per pouch. The comparison only works if you know both numbers, which is the point of this page. See also the strongest pouches by measured content and the difference between nicotine content and nicotine delivery.
For the wider picture on what these products are and how the strengths work, start with the complete guide to nicotine pouches, the mg guide and nicotine content in snus versus pouches. If you are weighing up where these products sit against each other, the master ranking is the place to go next, and the manufacturing difference behind the snus side of the table is covered in why Swedish snus is pasteurised and American snuff is fermented.
Sources
- FDA, Nicotine Pouch Products Authorized by the FDA — 43 products, content current as of 21 August 2026.
- FDA, Technical Project Lead Review of PMTAs, PM0000593–PM0000612 (Swedish Match USA), Appendix A — “Portion Count: 15 pouches”.
- FDA, Marketing granted order letter, Swedish Match USA, PM0005152, 20 August 2026, Appendix A — “Portion count: 20 pouches”.
- FDA, Technical Project Lead Review of PMTAs, Helix Innovations LLC — “Each container contains 14 pouches.”
- FDA, Section 903 of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act — quantity statement “in terms of weight, measure, or numerical count”.
- Directive 2014/40/EU, Articles 12, 14(1) and 17.
- Czechia, Vyhláška č. 141/2023 Sb. o nikotinových sáčcích bez obsahu tabáku, §§ 2 and 4; in force 1 July 2023. Official register: e-Sbírka; text read at Zákony pro lidi.
- Latvia, Tabakas izstrādājumu, tabakas aizstājējproduktu, augu smēķēšanas produktu, elektronisko smēķēšanas ierīču un to šķidrumu aprites likums, section 3(5¹).
- Hungary, 39/2013. (II. 14.) Korm. rendelet § 19/F(2), as inserted by 120/2024. (VI. 10.) Korm. rendelet.
- Denmark, Bekendtgørelse nr. 249 af 4. marts 2025 om grænseværdier for nikotinindhold i tobakssurrogater, § 2; in force 1 July 2025.
- Sweden, Förordning (2022:1263) om tobaksfria nikotinprodukter, § 11.
- Bundesinstitut für Risikobewertung, Gesundheitliche Bewertung von Nikotinbeuteln (Nikotinpouches), updated opinion 023/2022.
- Manufacturers’ own statements: Skruf, Zone, LOOP, GN Tobacco, Nordic Spirit, VELO Denmark, Swedish Match (XRANGE) and Swedish Match (General Long).
Last verified 19 October 2026. Every count on this page is manufacturer-declared; no laboratory or regulator measures pouch counts.